[clug-talk] deb questions

Jesse Kline jesse at kline.ca
Thu May 25 10:20:27 PDT 2006

Quoting Mitchell Brown <mbgb14 at gmail.com>:

> I know that the kernel has runlevels. 5 is the normal one, 3 is a terminal,
> 6 is reboot, 1 is basically like a safemode root console, and I forget the
> others. I know in RH you use "chkconfig --add vsftpd" or whatever to add
> them to the runlevel(s). But I dunno how to do it in Debian ... is that what
> init is for?

My Debian box is booting into X at runlevel 2, I don't get it.


More information about the clug-talk mailing list